Reviews



Great B&B - Rating 5/5

We only stayed on night but attention to detail was second to none.The room was lovely and the breakfast outstanding. We loved it!

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to give No1 The Laurels B&B such a great review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:David Hillier | Mon 14th Aug 2017


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Welcoming host. Lovely breakfast. Well equipped room, very clean. Lovely quiet location, Would book again.

Response

Thank you. You will be very welcome if you come again-always good when people return

Reviewer:robert burnett | Mon 14th Aug 2017


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Friendly, comfortable, clean, convenient

Reviewer:Grahame Deane | Thu 10th Aug 2017


***** - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay quiet and a very good breakfast Would deafly use again when in the area

Response

It is always a great compliment when guests want to come back. Thanks

Reviewer:Chris Apthorp | Thu 3rd Aug 2017


Weekend 28-31st July - Rating 5/5

An excellent stay at The Laurels.Very relaxing and homely. Really nice breakfasts and Malcolm the owner could not have been more helpful

Response

\"relaxing and Homely\"--just what I set out to offer my guests. thank you for your review

Reviewer:David Holwell | Tue 1st Aug 2017


Great- Rating 5/5

Fabulous B& B, couldn\'t fault the place. Nothing was to much trouble and the breakfast was yummy. Especially the coffee.

Response

thank you for taking the trouble to give such a rewarding review

Reviewer:Helen Greenwood | Mon 31st Jul 2017


Exellent - Rating 5/5

Comfortable clean room. Nice breakfast. Very welcoming. Would definately stay again

Response

You would always be welcome if you are in the area and I have availability

Reviewer:David Megson | Mon 24th Jul 2017


2 days stay fr - Rating 5/5

My daughter and myself are french tourists visiting South England. We spent a very pleasant and relaxing 2 days stay in this beautiful B& B, in a comfortable, pretty and tidy twin bedroom. Beautiful little garden. Our host was very kind, helpful and with good advice fror the visits. Delicious breakfast. We highly recommend this B& B.

Response

Very kind of you to make these lovely comments. Thank you. Come back again to the UK

Reviewer:FRANCOIS BOUYSSEL | Wed 19th Jul 2017


excellent - Rating 5/5

we enjoyed our stay we had a good breakfast the owner was lovely If we are in the area again we will definetly stay here.

Reviewer:diane hall | Mon 17th Jul 2017


No 1 The Laurels - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay Malcolm was very kind and understandingwhen I rang him at 11 pm to confirm that I was running later and would not be arriving until 11.45 pm !!Room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom and the breakfast and his rear garden were both very good indeed.Many ThanksPaul Clark

Response

Thanks for taking time to enter a review. I am usually a late bird so late arrivals are not a problem if I\'m warned. I\'m glad you enjoyed your stay even if the night was a short one for you!

Reviewer:Paul Clark | Thu 13th Jul 2017


B &B 10 miles north of Brighton in the South Downs - Rating 5/5

Quiet.Friendly.Comfortable.Superb breakfast.

Reviewer:George Dryden | Mon 26th Jun 2017


Top Class- Rating 5/5

Highly recommended . Malcolm runs a very good B and B everything is clean and tidy and well equiped and he is very helpful.

Response

Thanks for making the effort to give me such a rewarding review.

Reviewer:Sue Huntingdon | Sun 25th Jun 2017


Blissfully calm and comfortable - Rating 5/5

Henfield holds a lot of childhood memories and family history, and staying with Malcom was a great start to revisiting old haunts. More personalized and welcoming than a hotel, with thoughtful touches, like bedtime sweets on the pillow and assorted toiletries, and a full English breakfast cooked to order, with freshly-brewed coffee or tea. We would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you for noticing and appreciating . Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Ester Curd | Sun 14th May 2017


Very Good Choice! - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay in every regard - location, room, facilities, GREAT breakfast, very welcoming host in Malcolm. Recommend without hesitation

Response

Thanks for your kind comments. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Come again.

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Jack | Mon 8th May 2017


Great bed and breakfast, in a pleasant location- Rating 5/5

This is a hidden gem in Henfield, and would recomendanybody to stay here, the owner was very charming and good to talk with, very clean room and general area and the breakfast was cooked perfectly. Will stay here again when i am in the area on business :)

Reviewer:stuart williamson | Thu 6th Apr 2017


Very convenient for our venue- Rating 5/5

Very happy to recommend this B& B.Friendly owner, other nice guests, clean comfortable and warm.Delicious breakfast

Reviewer:catherine baker price | Mon 27th Mar 2017


nice stay - Rating 5/5

Clean, commutable, and friendly. Just as we needed. Nice breakfast friendly place.

Reviewer:Mary Hurley | Wed 22nd Mar 2017


Great place to stay- Rating 5/5

Really welcoming, lovely and clean and great host. Will certainly book again.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Prebble| Mon 7th Nov 2016


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable and pleasant stay. Lovely breakfast and Malcolm was the perfect host.

Reviewer:Jeff Bridges | Wed 2nd Nov 2016


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Wonderful room. Wonderful breakfast. Wonderful host. Wonderful location. Altogether wonderful.

Reviewer:Wendy Roddis | Thu 6th Oct 2016


Best place to stay in Henfield! - Rating 5/5

Very hospitable host who waited up past midnight to greet me after my flight was unfortunately delayed.Excellent wifi and delicious breakfast too!

Reviewer:Bernard Cassidy | Tue 27th Sep 2016


Warm welcome and most helpful.- Rating 5/5

What an excellent discovery! The house is tucked away but easy to find, and very clean and tidy. Malcolm is the perfect host, I was arriving late but his presented no problem at all, very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast too was amazing. Thank you.

Reviewer:James Evans | Sun 25th Sep 2016


First visit - Rating 5/5

I was travelling on business and needed accommodation for one night. I typically, use hotels, so I was a bit wary with regard to using an unknown B& B. I needn\'t have worried the accommodation was excellent, complimented by s substantial breakfast and all at a reasonable cost. I have already confirmed a further stay of three days in November as I was so happy with all aspects of the stay.

Reviewer:Keith Nicholls | Thu 15th Sep 2016


relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

A really comfortable stay, clean tidy, good food, excellent value

Reviewer:John Kehoe | Wed 14th Sep 2016


Lovely B&B just outside Brighton - Rating 5/5

From a friendly welcome, a good night sleep to a great breakfast. Everything thing we needed to then enjoy a day out in Brighton.

Reviewer:Richard Brown | Sun 28th Aug 2016


A warm Sussex welcome - Rating 4/5

No. 1 The Laurels is in a perfect location to reach both the coastal towns and the inland countryside. Malcolm made my son and I extremely welcome and we greatly enjoyed the facilities and the delicious breakfasts. Thank you for making our first experience of Sussex such a good one!

Reviewer:Ann Meadows | Fri 26th Aug 2016


Child free night away! - Rating 5/5

Clean and comfortable. Very affable host.

Reviewer:Zoe Rickett | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Hospitality plus ***** - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable place to be.put at ease when we arrived.Relaxed and joyful company fully booked as usual which speaks for itself.A lot of people go there time after time.Mouth wateringly good breakfast.Splendid place and host.What more could you ask for from a few days awayor to make working away from home less irksome. We are working on finding a reason or an excuse for our next visit there.Thank youMalcolm.

Reviewer:JOHN SAYERS | Sun 14th Aug 2016


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Needed to be near Crawley and found this little gem. Easy to reach the coast. Single room nice and comfortable. Massive breakfast to set you up for the day.

Reviewer:Ms. Birthe Ziegler | Fri 12th Aug 2016


1 The Laurels - Rating 5/5

The best organised and well kept accommodation I have stayed in for a very long time.Lovely quiet area. Nothing os too much trouble for the owner. Excellent comfortable room and great breakfast.Will strongly recommend to others seeking a stay in this part of the U.K.

Reviewer:Graham Clegg | Wed 10th Aug 2016


My Henfield b & b experience - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay at no 1 the laurels , Henfield , the host was extremely welcoming, and friendly...our room was exceptionally clean, with everything you could have wanted, with a lovely en -suite !After a very comfortable sleep, had a lovely cooked breakfast, which was delicious, can highly recommend this b & b , a beautiful home, with a superb host ......many thanks for a lovely stay, will be back when visiting Sussex again !

Reviewer:Derek Chappell | Tue 26th Jul 2016


Top quality B&B - Rating 5/5

High standard of service in a very well appointed home.Host very welcoming.

Reviewer:Robert Chalmers | Sun 24th Jul 2016


A lovely b&b - Rating 5/5

Very clean place. Well appointed with good facilities and a lovely breakfast cooked to order. My single room wasnt en suite but i had solo access to the family bathroom directly opposite and a robe to use. Recommended.

Response

Thank you Joanne for taking the trouble to be so complimentary. I\'m glad the robe was useful it is meant to compensate for the room being not quite en-suite!

Reviewer:Joanne Noble | Sun 17th Jul 2016


2 nightstay in July 2016 - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 2 nights whilst working locally.The room and the dining room/lounge were spotlessly clean. The Breakfast was very good with quality ingredients and Malcolm the host was very welcoming and helpful. All in all a very good experience that I\'d be happy to repeat

Response

Thanks Stephen glad you enjoyed the breakfasts.

Reviewer:Stephen Burton | Thu 14th Jul 2016


What a pleasant stay! - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure staying at No1 The Laurels, as the the owner was very accommodating about me arriving late in the evening and there were lots of little touches that make all the difference (eg flannel and bathrobe in bathroom, chocolate on the bed and clear instructions on how to use things.The location was quiet, the bed comfortable, the shower powerful and the food delicious. Thanks for a brief, but enjoyable stay.Giles

Response

Wow! Thanks Giles for taking the time out to write such a great review and for noticing the little bits and pieces.,would be great to see you again.

Reviewer:Giles Arnold | Wed 13th Jul 2016


Excellent ! - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, clean and comfortable.Great selection of teas, coffee and biscuits. Breakfast was supberb.Malcolm did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one. Have already booked again.

Response

and it will be a pleasure to see you again. Many thanks

Reviewer:Sarah Robins | Tue 12th Jul 2016


A lovely weekend retreat.- Rating 5/5

Just had a wonderful weekend at The Laurels. Malcolm is a wonderful host and made us very welcome at his lovely B and B . Such a homely place, ideal for a stay in the Sussex countryside. The breakfasts are delicious and the room was perfect. We will be returning to this wonderful B and B and would recommend it to anyone wishing for a peaceful weekend.

Response

It\'s always good to know thatI hit the target--I aim at homely and relaxing and yes the lovely West Sussex countryside is a great natural asset.. Thanks

Reviewer:Claire Fox | Mon 4th Jul 2016


No. 1 The Laurels, Henfield - Rating 5/5

Visiting Son in Littlehampton - overnight stay.Very good, friendly welcome given.Very comfortable double room with large ensuite.Great breakfast cooked freshly to order.Good attention to detail throughout stay.The owner worked hard to ensure a great stay.

Response

Thank you Neil --I am glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Jackson | Sun 26th Jun 2016


Laurels recommendation - Rating 5/5

Great location, walking distance to Henfield village good facilities & terrific local pub food.Spacious accommodation every extra you need.Fabulous breakfast and excellent host in Malcolm all runs along smoothly highly recommended B& B ,we will be back for Goodwood Next time ideal location.

Response

Thank you-pleased you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Martin Howard | Sun 26th Jun 2016


Very good - Rating 4/5

Very good. Friendly relaxed atmosphere comfortable bed, bathroom spotless, good breakfast

Reviewer:James Wishart | Tue 21st Jun 2016


Just right for a weekend break to visit local friends - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome. Clean and comfortable room. Substantial breakfast

Response

Thanks for your comments. I\'m glad that you enjoyed your week-end visiting your friends in Henfield and staying at No1 The Laurels. The weather was mostly kind to you which made the open village gardens that much more appealing. It was good to chat and about Matlock etc. and I always enjoy it when guests get chatting with each other and often confirm that it is a small world!

Reviewer:David Bowker | Mon 13th Jun 2016


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent service and cooked breakfast. This is a B& B with a professional approach and gives a small hotel experience.

Response

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind review. I am very pleased that all met your expectations and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:JJ Oxford | Mon 6th Jun 2016


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Yet again another fantastic stay at no1 the laurels. Malcom was such a fantastic host nothing was to much for him.we stoped in the green room and what a lovely room it was.breakfast was not to much but set you for the day. we hope to be back soon

Reviewer:Mr. GEOFFREY REID | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Great little B&B - Rating 5/5

Very friendly host and terrific breakfast. All the facilities that you could want. Set in the gorgeous village of Henfield.

Reviewer:Neil Thomson | Thu 2nd Jun 2016


My stay at No1 The Laurels - Rating 5/5

I stayed at No1 The Laurels with my parents the night before my wedding and we couldn\'t have chosen a better place. The B& B is in a quiet cul-de-sac so we were able to have a peaceful sleep. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and well furnished and it felt homely. Malcolm was a very accommodating host, especially with my photographer and hair & makeup lady arriving during the following morning to get me ready. We very much enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it to anyone. Thanks very much Malcolm!

Response

Thank you Helen. It is always rather special to host a bride and see the wedding party set off for the ceremony. It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely family right down to 2 week old nephew! The sun came out for a beautiful bride and made me smile. Good luck-always.

Reviewer:Helen Davey | Thu 2nd Jun 2016


Home from home - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome from Malcolm.Cosy room. Delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:Frances Willoughby | Mon 30th May 2016


Excellent value- Rating 1/5

Couldn\'t fault the welcome, facilities or the location.The rating wasn\'t working but I \'give it five\'!

Reviewer:Patricia (Pat) Hurdle | Tue 24th May 2016


A Perfect Stay at No. 1 The Laurels - Rating 5/5

Malcolm Harrington the proprietor of No. 1 The Laurels, Henfield, proved to be the perfect host. The room was clean, comfortable and well-equipped and the breakfast was excellent. If anyone was considering a visit to the attractive village of Henfield, I would unreservedly recommend a stay at No. 1, The Laurels.

Reviewer:David Simkin | Sun 22nd May 2016


A pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

I would recommend this B+B. It is situated not far from the village centre (road works permitting). The rooms are nice. The Host is helpful and friendly and prepares a nice breakfast. When I was there, it was Easter and it was a nice touch to be given an easter egg and to be offered a hot cross bun.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to say such nice things. I do try my best to provide a comfortable stay. Very few people took me up on the Hot Cross Bun so I ate rather too many!!!

Reviewer:Brian Altchuler | Thu 14th Apr 2016


Comfortable stay in lovely home - Rating 5/5

Host very welcoming and obliging. Glad I could book a second night and enjoy a lovely breakfast on Sunday.

Response

Thank you Catherine. I enjoyed your company and was pleased to offer you some R&R after your taxing cross country running--I was exhausted just hearing about it.

Reviewer:Catherine Marriott | Thu 14th Apr 2016


A little gem - Rating 5/5

Everything about this place is first class from the rooms to the wonderful breakfasts to the superb owner Malcolm.....highly recommended

Reviewer:David Clark | Sat 26th Mar 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very clean, owner very attentive.Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Fredrick Smith | Mon 21st Mar 2016


Another great stay - Rating 5/5

This location is clean, comfortable, welcoming and breakfast is fantastic. If you need a base in the south you won\'t find better!

Response

Thank you Karen. That is trulyvery rewarding feedback. I think I get it right most of the time but we all have our off days and get a little careless of detail. It is very helpful to be advised when one gets it right and also if things are not quite what they ought to be--keeps one on ones toes!!

Reviewer:Karen Goode | Mon 14th Mar 2016


Charming overnight stay- Rating 5/5

Although I turned up earlier than expected I was shown my room and given my key.I felt at my ease straight away.Comfortable bed, breakfast was cooked to order and very nice.I have booked to stay again.

Response

Avril,-that is very kind of you. It was fortunate that the room was all ready and I was running on time--sometimes the day evaporates and I am left chasing my tail and might be a bit flustered if guests catch me out! I do try to provide a relatively calm, comfortable home from home type stay and it is great to be rewarded by such comments and to know that all is well. Pleased that you want to come again.

Reviewer:Avril James | Tue 5th Jan 2016


First class B&B - Rating 5/5

We stayed here over Christmas - visiting family and needed somewhere to stay. We have used a few hotels/B& B in Henfield and this is the best by far. Everything is top notch and we will stay here again next time we are in Henfoeld.

Reviewer:Julie Curtis | Sun 3rd Jan 2016


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Home from home with excellent facilities good food and very hospitable host Local village pub is very convenient and goodHighly recommended

Reviewer:Marion Buchanan | Sun 8th Nov 2015


My One Night. (So far). - Rating 5/5

Malcolm was the perfect host. A very friendly warm welcome. A very stylish and comfortable room, a bed I didn\'t really want to get out of, it was so comfortable and a delicious breakfast all went together to make my one night stay absolutely superb. Thank you Malcolm.

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart Neale | Thu 29th Oct 2015


home comforts - Rating 5/5

Ideal home from home b& b - Martyn the owner is a caring sensitive man who obviously takes great pride in providing a good service for his clients.Breakfast was outstanding with good quality meats. Excellent!

Reviewer:Gillian Saward | Fri 4th Sep 2015


Superb - Rating 5/5

Quiet location.Interior tastes very nice. One of the best B& B.

Reviewer:Yoshihiro Sano | Mon 31st Aug 2015


Recent Stay - Rating 4/5

We have stayed here several times and have found excellent service and a warm welcome.

Reviewer:Miss. Sue King | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Lovely location- Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy with en suite, shower was excellent great breakfast ideal location while going into Brighton

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Boddington | Thu 20th Aug 2015


All round excellence - Rating 5/5

Quiet surroundings, lovely host who has thought of everything - all little details accounted for. Fantastic breakfast, safe parking. Perfect location for exploring the area.

Reviewer:Sara Holloway | Tue 30th Jun 2015


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Everything was perfect.Very clean,tea and coffee in room with busciuts was nice touch.breakfast was wonderful.it was cooked to orderThanks for a wonderful stay

Reviewer:Mr. Gerard savage | Thu 25th Jun 2015


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful host. Malcolm takes good care of his guests.Good value and I enjoyed my stay once again. The single room was the only room available and I would think twice about booking it agin but it served its purpose.

Reviewer:Roy Page | Wed 10th Jun 2015


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful host. Malcolm takes good care of his guests.Good value and I enjoyed my stay once again. The single room was the only room available and I would think twice about booking it agin but it served its purpose.

Reviewer:Roy Page | Wed 10th Jun 2015


A hidden treat - Rating 5/5

What a lovely B & B. Although it was the owners home it felt like I got 5 star treatment . My room was lovely quaint in its design but tastefully done. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed. Super clean and what a joy to have loads of beverages in my room, lots of biscuits and a kit Kat lol. Little touches were wonderful from the sweet on my pillow to the fresh flowers in my room. Breakfast was lovely and beautifully presented in the dining room. Plenty to eat and the owners went out of his way to be friendly and accommodating. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend this little gem to anyone.

Reviewer:Sharon Thursby | Fri 22nd May 2015


Positive review - Rating 4/5

Very caring and welcoming. Quality experience.

Reviewer:Tom Nicholls | Sun 17th May 2015


Two nights of comfort with cleanliness. - Rating 5/5

A great host,very clean throughout and a wonderfully comfortable bed.

Reviewer:Stefan Rodriguez | Thu 30th Apr 2015


Rest assured - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant place to stay for a couple of days.

Reviewer:Mr. David Radcliffe | Tue 28th Apr 2015


Great stay. - Rating 5/5

We had a really lovely stay at No1 The Laurels. The rooms are large and comfortable, the breakfasts delicious and the hospitality was excellent. We were doing Warrior Run and this was a great base near the event.

Reviewer:Nicolas Bach | Thu 23rd Apr 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome from Malcolm and a very comfortable and peaceful night. Highly recommend Sunday dinner at the White Hart. We will return whenever we are next in the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marilyn Page | Tue 21st Apr 2015


Very accommodating - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay at 1 The Laurels.The house was clean and spacious with a delicious breakfast!

Reviewer:Gillian Albon | Mon 20th Apr 2015


b & b with all the whistles - Rating 5/5

What a great find and not only do you get the usual toiletries, free wi-fi & tea and coffee but you get hot chocolate, chocolates on your bed, biscuits, Kit Kats, sewing kit, shower cap, towelling robe. Wow and the owner is so nice and makes a great breakfast. Would highly recommend staying here. I dont normally stay in b & b\'s but this place was worth it. The village is lovely too with good food in the local pub.

Reviewer:Linda Rayner | Mon 13th Apr 2015


No 1 The Laurels - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Laurels after travelling from Devon to attend our nephews wedding. The room was clean and spacious. We were able to leave a note if we wanted breakfast earlier than ten. Plenty of choices for breakfast and we had a lovely fried breakfast. Will stay here again If we come back to this area.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Deeks | Mon 30th Mar 2015


So welcoming! - Rating 5/5

No 1 The Laurels is warm, welcoming, comfortable, spotlessly clean and has all the comforts of home.Breakfast was EXCELLENT and the host most helpful.I will definately stay there again and would recommennd highly.

Reviewer:Karen Goode | Sun 29th Mar 2015


Nothing really to complain about - Rating 5/5

Warm and comfortable B& B in quiet location but within easy walk of main street of Henfield. Malcolm was a welcoming host, nothing seemed too much trouble, and breakfast was impressive. Easy drive into Brighton and excellent meal at The White Hart. Will definitely go back again if we are in the area.

Reviewer:Ann Waters | Sun 22nd Mar 2015


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Very courteous and a super breakfast.I thoroughly recommend staying here

Reviewer:Alex Donaldson | Wed 4th Mar 2015


Welcoming B&B - Rating 5/5

On our arrival the proprietor Malcolm Harrington opened the door with a warm welcoming smile. The rest of our one-night stay was the same:warm, welcoming and relaxed. We were served a satisfying, freshly cooked breakfast, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom immaculate with an excellent shower. We will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Ms. Sheila Taylor | Tue 10th Feb 2015


Warm, quiet and relaxing - Rating 5/5

You are always guaranteed a warm welcome to this friendly, cosy and clean B& B. There is plenty of parking, great sized rooms and the area is wonderfully quiet. Local Pub and a selection of takeaway restaurants are nearby which make this a good based when exploring or working in the area.

Reviewer:Benjamin Stanley | Tue 10th Feb 2015


1st rate accomodation - Rating 5/5

Very efficient and friendly service, comfortable room with a brilliant power shower! Highly recommended

Reviewer:Matt Wright | Wed 3rd Dec 2014


Mr - Rating 5/5

A wonderful place to stay, clean room, nice breakfast, highly recommended, will definatley recommend this guest house, thanks Mr n pointon

Reviewer:Neil Pointon | Thu 27th Nov 2014


Great place to Stay - Rating 5/5

A great B& B in Henfield in SussexHighly recommended, B& B was very warm, clean and cosy in a quiet area.Food is great and Malcolm is very welcoming.Did not want to go back home and wish I couldhave stayed longer.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Hollock | Sun 9th Nov 2014


A lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed here to attend a funeral at the local church and were both very impressed with the welcome and quality of No1 The Laurels.The room, the breakfasts and Malcolm were lovely and we would definitely recommend a visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Cherry Martin | Wed 8th Oct 2014


Our Special Weekend - Rating 5/5

Only one word is needed to describe our stayFANTASTIC!!

Reviewer:Mr. David Stanley | Mon 6th Oct 2014


1 The Laurels - Rating 4/5

Short break visiting family. Very pleasant stay, relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicolson Brooks | Fri 19th Sep 2014


5* stay with lovely host - Rating 5/5

Malcolm is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. This is our 2nd time of staying here and we would highly recommend to anyone. The breakfasts are unbeatable with everything available. Scrumptous. I would like to leave a down side, but there isn't any. Will be booking here again in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jacqueline Russell | Sun 7th Sep 2014


3 night stopover - Rating 5/5

As always, excellent - warm welcome, A1 room and a superb breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Boniface | Tue 2nd Sep 2014


Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights with Malcolm - the room was immacualte, very comfortable & well equiped. The breakfast was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment and will certainly be staying again

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian Hollingshead | Mon 4th Aug 2014


Comfortable and well appointed - Rating 5/5

Our twin room was very comfortable and clean. Lovely strong shower and the quality of the beds had us inspecting the mattresses for the brand name. Well appointed and an easy stroll into the village for somewhere to eat. We stayed here during our South Downs Way walk and found the location quiet at night with no traffic noise and the black out blind kept the room dark. An excellent breakfast and friendly host. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Gilmore | Thu 31st Jul 2014


28/06/14 - Rating 5/5

Very nice stay with a very friendly and welcoming host, Malcolm.Possibly the best breakfast that I have had anywhere and I have travelled a fair bit.Would definitely stay again if looking for accommodation in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Rothwell | Mon 30th Jun 2014


Nice Stay at No.1 The Laurels - Rating 5/5

I booked to stay at No.1 The Laurels as it had good reviews, 4* and was local to the area a colleague and myself were working for a couple of days.We were welcomed by Malcolm the owner who has run the Laurels for 22 years.Easy check in to nice, spacious rooms with en suites.Good showers, free wifi and a nice breakfast.No.1 The Laurels is in a very quiet location and I had a very peaceful nights sleep!A few minutes walk found a very nice recommended local pub where the food, service and drinks were excellent.In summary a nice B & B, great location, great value and will stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben Gunner | Tue 24th Jun 2014


Great stay at the Laurels - Rating 5/5

I'd recommend this lovely B& B - I have stayed there twice to date and on both occasions I've had an excellent experience. It is extremely clean, very homely, the owner is extremely helpful and the breakfasts are great!

Reviewer:Dr. Stephanie Walker | Fri 30th May 2014


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights at The Laurels. Excellent accommodation in every way. Malcolm made us so welcome. Would certainly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in this lovely part of Sussex.

Reviewer:Mr. Frank Davis | Fri 30th May 2014


2 day stay - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay. Room very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Quiet locationExcellent breakfast provided by the amiable "mine host"

Reviewer:Mr. David Pearce | Wed 28th May 2014


Great Friendly Stay - Rating 4/5

We had an excellent one night stay here after cycling the South Downs Way.Our bikes were welcomed, we had excellent food at the nearby pub, the owner was friendly and cooked a good bespoke breakfast.Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew Parkes | Mon 26th May 2014


Superb B&B - Rating 5/5

All you could wish for in a B& B - comfortable, clean room & en suite, tasty breakfast and a friendly, welcoming owner. Thanks Malcolm.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jill Turner | Tue 20th May 2014


excellent - Rating 5/5

brilliant b & b host Malcolm was so welcoming breakfast was beautiful would definitely recommend

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane Renelt | Sun 11th May 2014


great b&b - Rating 5/5

Another lovely stay at 1 the Laurels. Well equipped rooms, excellent breakfasts,friendly host.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue Harwood | Thu 8th May 2014


Thank You - Rating 5/5

third time staying, once again a great place to come to, friendly, clean, superb breakfast,great value,would happily recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles Baldock | Thu 8th May 2014


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

I spent 3 nights No.1 and would strongly recommend it.My room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean.An excellent breakfast, and Malcolm is a warm and relaxed host.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger Mills | Wed 30th Apr 2014


Excellent B and B- Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome from Malcolm.Very comfortable rooms with nice touches ie fresh flowers chocolate bar and nice books to browse through.I stay here regularly and really enjoy it.Would highly recommend .

Response

Thank you Corinne--always great when people come back for more! Thank you for noticing the flowers etc.

Reviewer:Mrs. Corinne Morgan | Tue 29th Apr 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

My mother and I shared the very comfortable twin-bedded room.No 1 The Laurels was easy to find, Malcolm very friendly and helpful.The accommodation is fresh and clean and has excellent amenities. Cooked breakfast was a treat!Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to give such a rewarding review. It would be good to see you both again

Reviewer:Mrs. Anna Parkin | Sun 6th Apr 2014


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay.The breakfast each morning was delicious and the host was most welcoming. Highly recommended.Thank you!

Reviewer:Mr. Glen Harrison | Sat 22nd Mar 2014


Grand - Rating 4/5

Malcolm and his establishment were welcoming, comfortable and just what the doctor ordered.

Reviewer:Mr. Alastair Brown | Mon 17th Feb 2014


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

An adorable B& B, cozy and friendly, with a very English feel and delicious food! We loved our stay!

Reviewer:Miss. Juliette Rogasik | Sun 2nd Feb 2014


Friendly and conveniently located B&B - Rating 4/5

Located a short walk from the High Street this clean and comfortable B& B is well worth a visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Baker | Wed 22nd Jan 2014


Stay at the Laurels - Rating 5/5

We stayed on the night of 13th November 2013. Malcom & Paul made us very welcome, especially as we had an horendous journey from South Wales, being held up in traffic on both the M25 & M3. The accommdodation is extremely comfortable & the food excellent. Couldn't have asked for better.We would use again when in the area & would not hessitate to recommend to others.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Carr | Fri 15th Nov 2013


Great services - Rating 5/5

Recently stayed at the Laurels (5/10/13) and the service from Malcolm was excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Hamnett | Mon 14th Oct 2013


We'll be back! - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed on 23rd August because we were attending a family reunion. Our experience could not have been better. We were greeted at the door and shown to our room which was lovely, with tea, coffee, an abundance of biscuits and even freshly cut flowers on display. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was superb. What more could one want?! We will definitely stay again, even without a reunion!

Reviewer:Mr. Dave John | Sun 25th Aug 2013


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely spacious room. Great breakfast. No complaints at all.

Reviewer:Mr. Roy Cadoux | Thu 8th Aug 2013


Nice Stay - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay in the Laurels. Nice and very quiet area, Rooms very clean and large, good and luxurious breakfast, very nice and helpful owner!Thanks for everything

Reviewer:Mr. Karlheinz Schaffer | Wed 31st Jul 2013


Mr & Mrs Ward - Rating 4/5

My wife and I stayed for one night. a very clean and hospitableB & B. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day. Will definitely stay again when visiting the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Ward | Tue 18th Jun 2013


1 The Laurels Henfield W Sussex - Rating 5/5

Unfortunately we only stayed one night. We received a great welcome upon our arrival by Malcolm. We were shown to our room a large twin beatifully furnished and very comfortable and the en suite was spacious, everywhere was emmaculately clean and tidy. The house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac with no passing traffic and only a few minutes walk from Henfield High Street.Breakfast was freshly made to order and served in a well appointed dining room. All in all a very pleasing experience.

Response

Wow! Thanks for such kind words--I have been a bit embarrassed over the past 10 days or so by coughing and wheezing my way through breakfasts because of bad asthma so I am very pleased that that did not put you off!. Would be great to see you here again .Malcolm.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Evans | Fri 14th Jun 2013


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

A great one night stay in a small village called Henfield. Lovely and quiet, great bedroom and super breakfast. Gets full marks from me.CheersRoss

Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to give your generous comments

Reviewer:Mr. Ross Greening | Mon 10th Jun 2013


Real Find - Rating 5/5

This gem of a b& b excels in every way. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast far exceeds those produced by the majority of 4* hotels and also many 5*. There is a parking bay for all guests at the front of the b& b which is a great bonus. For my trips to Brighton I now stay here every time.

Reviewer:Dr. Valerie Pridmore | Mon 10th Jun 2013


A splendid place to stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed at No1 The Laurels for one night over the Easter weekend. The property is very clean and Malcolm is especially welcoming. The room was lovely and the little extras of biscuits and chocolate treats were an extra delight. Breakfast was also excellent. Well worth a visit if you are staying in Henfield over night.

Reviewer:Miss. Elinor Goodchild | Wed 3rd Apr 2013


Walking mini-break - Rating 4/5

Stayed at No 1 The Laurels to have easy access to the South Downs by car.Was surprised that Henfield had so many excellent pubs within short walk as well.Room, ensuite, host and breakfast were brilliant.Personally, I found the bed to be slightly too firm but would not put me off staying again.

Reviewer:Miss. Emma Mitchell | Mon 4th Mar 2013


First class - Rating 5/5

Excellent b& b in a quiet location . A very genial & helpful host and everything one could ask for in terms of facilities. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Howard Bragen | Sun 4th Nov 2012


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Well recommended quiet house with everything about it outstripping it's price bracket! will definitely stay again when in henfield!

Reviewer:Mr. Clayton Payne | Wed 24th Oct 2012


First class B&B - Rating 5/5

Very impressed with the standard of the room and care taken to make me feel welcome. The house was spotless, cleanly decorated and the en suite was also in very good order. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of cereals, fruits and choice of cooked breakfast available. I have booked in again and I would highly recommend the Laurels to anyone;the location, in the village of Henfield, was an added bonus.

Reviewer:Miss. Debra Clayton | Fri 5th Oct 2012


perfect night away - Rating 4/5

Hight a night break from the kids, No. 1 The Laurels was perfect and in a great location for a very relaxing break.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew Thompson | Mon 10th Sep 2012


Short break - Rating 4/5

Welcoming host,quiet and comfortable room,excellent breakfast.Would have no hesitation staying again if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Carroll | Fri 31st Aug 2012


Visit at No1 The Laurels - Rating 5/5

Good value for money.Staff is very friendly and the quality of the sausages and the bacon at breakfast were exceptionally good.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elsabé Snyman | Fri 31st Aug 2012


1st class - Rating 5/5

Malcolm was very accommodating and very welcoming. Lovely and clean and a very nice breakfast. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Mr. Ceri Jones | Mon 13th Aug 2012


Short Stay - Rating 5/5

Having stayed at the Laurels before it was only natural to re-book a stay. Mr Harrington is the perfect host. His knowledge of the local area is next to none. The rooms are clean and comfortable and his breakfasts will set you up for the day. I shall certainly stay again the next time I am in the area.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments-it was interesting to share your family tree hunting progress.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Boniface | Thu 5th Jul 2012


Waiting for the baby - Rating 5/5

My daughter-in-law,Sarah,booked the Laurels for me so that I could be near them to look after my grandson as a new baby was expected(still to arrive).I very much enjoyed my stay and time to relax as I found the Laurels comfy and calming.The breakfasts were varied and beautifully cooked.The proprietor was friendly and easy to talk to,making you feel at home.

Response

It was a pleasureto play "the waiting game" with you and chat about life's challenges!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah Robertson | Thu 5th Jul 2012


Peace & Quiet! - Rating 5/5

After performing at a local festival it was good to retire to such a peaceful and homely atmosphere. The following morning's breakfast was a delight which set us up for the journey home.

Reviewer:Mr. Cliff Barker | Wed 6th Jun 2012


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Wonderful room in a lovely house, situated in a beautiful little village. The facilities are as good as any hotel, at a fraction of the cost

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Hayes | Thu 3rd May 2012


Really nice - Rating 4/5

The place was very nice, bed was good, rooms were good. Malcolm was very friendly and makes a good english breakfast!

Reviewer:Mr. Luke Mccarthy | Sun 29th Apr 2012


Thank You ! - Rating 5/5

Have stayed here a few times over the years whilst visiting family, always a warm welcome and a superb, clean and comfortable room, followed by an excellent hearty breakfast. Cannot fault, highly recommended.

Response

Thanks Andy- it is always rewading when customers come back for more and become part of the No1 The Laurels extended family!

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Hayes | Wed 25th Apr 2012


Perfect - Rating 5/5

I was delighted to find the room and en-suite spotlessly clean and everything that I could of wished for and a little more.Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and beautifully cooked food.Would recommend.

Response

Thank you-I know,from our conversation, that you ar an experienced caterer and therefore know the business and what standards to look for so I value your comments an that you took time out to make them.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanne Smith | Tue 24th Apr 2012


excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

This is a most excellent B& B with a very high standard of decor, service and courtesy.I will visit again!!5/5

Response

thank you very much -I will be pleased to welcomeyou back.

Reviewer:Brian Jackson | Tue 3rd Apr 2012


Very impressed. - Rating 5/5

Excellent standard of accomodation. Would highly recommend and will use again when in the area.Thank you Malcolm!

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Kentfield | Tue 17th Jan 2012


The laurels - Rating 5/5

Nice location, good room, great breakfast, friendly and welcoming host excellent value too.

Reviewer:Mr. Alex Nicklin | Fri 9th Dec 2011


No.1 The Laurels, Henfield - Rating 5/5

Malcom the proprietor, happy, welcoming and accommodating as ever. Room spotless, breakfast excellant the perfect overnight stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart Bowyer-sidwell | Wed 14th Sep 2011


Deserves Recommendation - Rating 1/5

Couldn't find it down the dark country roads.Didn't realise it was right in Henfield off the main road.We had a good breakfast, accommodation like home,clean, modern and comfy.Host very genial but not intrusive.Guests were brilliant company - Danny, Paula & Chris.The breakfast conversation was the highlight of our two day stay in the area.Thank you Malcolm. Rating 4 star but site wouldn't allow me to put it in.Definitely not "horrible"

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine Langford | Thu 8th Sep 2011


Dont miss this one. - Rating 5/5

malcum made us feel at home.he looked after us,leaving 3 kind of biscuits to have with our drink in the room.his breakfast was great and served hot. Our room was very clean as was the linen.The best B+B,highly recomended by us.will go back when we are in the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue Peel | Mon 25th Jul 2011


Dont miss this one. - Rating 5/5

malcum made us feel at home.he looked after us,leaving 3 kind of biscuits to have with our drink in the room.his breakfast was great and served hot. Our room was very clean as was the linen.The best B+B,highly recomended by us.will go back when we are in the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue Peel | Mon 25th Jul 2011


stay here - Rating 5/5

warm welcome, comnfortable and clean room, nice to have a proper shower rather than one that trickles.Breakfast was excellent served hot;quality bacon, fresh mushrooms and generous portions. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone wishing to visit Brighton or surrounding areas.

Reviewer:Mr. Darren Harris | Thu 14th Jul 2011


A gem in Sussex - Rating 5/5

One of the best Bed & Breakfast establishments we have ever stayed at. Comfortable, well-appointed bedroom with superb en-suite facilities. Breakfast was up to the same standard and beautifully presented.

Reviewer:Mr. David Petrie | Wed 25th May 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat